Stitt names Russell chair of Workers’ Compensation Commission  

Shawn Ashley, eCapitol 

Gov. Kevin Stitt has named Jordan Russell chair of the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation  Commission. 

Stitt’s appointment of Russell to the post comes after Commissioner Mark Liotta announced  Tuesday he was resigning as chair of the commission. Liotta’s term on the commission will  expire in August. Former Rep. Scott Biggs was appointed by Stitt to succeed him.  

“With the expiration of my term as Commissioner, there will be need for you to appoint a new  Chairman in accordance with O.S. 85A. In order to facilitate a smooth transition, I hereby  request you appoint a new Chairman early, effective 1 June, 2021,” Liotta said in a letter  Tuesday to Stitt. 

Stitt appointed Russell chair of the commission later that day. 

The commission is made up of three members appointed by the governor to staggered, six-year  terms. Russell was appointed to the commission originally by then Gov. Mary Fallin in October  2016 and was reappointed by Stitt to a term expiring August 25, 2025. 

Russell will be the longest-serving of the three commissioners after Liotta’s departure. 

Russell is an attorney. He joined the commission after serving three legislative sessions as policy  director and counsel to then House Speaker Jeff Hickman. Prior to his time at the State Capitol,  Jordan was in private practice. He also previously worked as a legislative assistant to Oklahoma’s  US Cong. Frank Lucas in his Washington, D.C. office where he worked on issues involving  healthcare, labor, social security and disability and the Employee Retirement Income Security  Act (ERISA), which sets minimum standards for most voluntarily established private industry  retirement and health plans.

Call Now ButtonReview Us on Google