Bob Gilliland Chairman of Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Commission

Governor Mary Fallin Thursday announced she has named Bob Gilliland chairman of the Oklahoma

Workers Compensation Commission and has tabbed the outgoing chairman to serve as a special


Gilliland, of Oklahoma City, was appointed in 2013 as one of three initial members on the Workers

Compensation Commission. He assumes his chairmanship duties June 1.

“Bob has helped craft a fair and efficient way to deal with injured workers on the job,” said Fallin. “His

knowledge and experience will be very helpful in heading up the commission.”

Troy L. Wilson, the first chairman of the commission, announced his resignation last month and that his

last day would be May 31. He will serve as special commissioner from June 1 through Aug. 31, 2015.

As special commissioner, Wilson will now hear cases when a member of the commission is disqualified

because of a conflict.

Fallin has appointed Dr. LeRoy Young, of Oklahoma City, to replace Wilson on the commission beginning

on June 1. She also earlier named Mark Liotta, of Sapulpa, to succeed outgoing Workers’ Compensation

Commissioner Denise Engle.

The two new commissioners’ appointments are pending action in the state Senate. Senate confirmation is

not required for Wilson’s appointment as special commissioner.

The Oklahoma Worker’s Compensation Commission was created in 2013 and started operations Feb. 1,

2014. The former state’s workers’ compensation court is now called the Oklahoma Workers’

Compensation Court of Existing Claims, which deals with cases where the injury occurred before Feb. 1,


Call Now ButtonReview Us on Google